Z ${site.data.firmName}Est. 2001
Have a case? Call us:
207-775-4255
  • Hundreds of jury trials
  • Multi-millions in verdicts and settlements
  • Major not guilty verdicts
  • High stakes litigation

Maine is hard on those who drink and drive in the state

Maine has a very strict approach to penalizing those who operate vehicles while under the influence. If you drive a motor vehicle when you have a blood-alcohol concentration of 0.08 percent or higher, you will be charged with an OUI.

As a result of the blood alcohol content (BAC) test, the Secretary of State can immediately suspend your license. That is why it is vital that you defend yourself immediately. If something was wrong with the test or it was not given correctly, you deserve the right to fight against the charge and license suspension.

Can minors drink any alcohol in Maine?

Maine has a zero-tolerance law. The zero-tolerance law applies to those who are under the age of 21. This law states that you cannot have any measurable amount of alcohol within your body. If you are found with any amount of alcohol in your blood, then you can lose your license for up to a year. Simply refusing to take the blood alcohol content test results in a suspension of your license for 18 months or longer. In the event that you have passengers in your vehicle, the suspension will be made at least 180 days longer.

Why is Maine so hard on those who drink and drive?

One reason is because the state has an implied consent law. This law states that a driver must take a blood, urine or blood test if asked by authorities. Simply having a license in the state authorizes the authorities to collect samples from you if necessary. Fortunately, the test works both ways. If you are not intoxicated, the test will show it. There are times when the tests are inaccurate, though, which is something your attorney can help you argue.

If there are no aggravating factors, a first offense OUI leads to a license suspension of 150 days. You will also be fined $500. You have the right to fight back against these penalties if you believe the BAC test was inaccurate or if you've been falsely accused.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information